Common Misconceptions of Christians: Intro

This next series of posts is primarily for non-Christians but could also be useful for Christians too. I just want to clarify a few things with you guys about the Christian faith, explain to you what exactly it’s about and talk about some common stereotypes. Whenever people hear I’m a Christian they tend to be genuinely intrigued and I think that’s simply because they don’t know enough about it and never come round to accepting Christ as their saviour. A few times I’ve had some interesting conversations with some of my non-Christian friends at school. One went like this:

Friend 1: You’re a Christian?!

Me: Aha that’s right

Friend 1: Do you believe in God then?

Me: Yeah.

Friend 1: Do you go to church on Sundays too?

Me: Yep

Friend 1: What do you do there?

Me: Praise, worship and learning

Friend 1: Ahh, what’s the music like and do you have to wear white robes?

Me: LOOOOL the music varies but it’s usually Christian rock and noooo! Why would you think we wear robes?

Friend 1: I dunno

Another one went like this:

Friend 2: What’s that wristband about?

Me: It’s a Christian thing

Friend 2: Oh you’re a Christian, I didn’t know

Me: Lol yeah man

Friend 2: Do you pray?

Me: Yep

Friend 2: And does God answer your prayers?

Me: Yep

Friend 2: Good for you

After conversations like this I always wish I said more as opposed to just yes or no but I’m working on evangelism because that is very important (but that’s another post for another day). Anyway, conversations like this just show how little people actually know about Christianity and how distant and unimportant it is to them. Personally, I believe this is because people don’t evangelize anymore and also because of the stereotypes on Christians. So I’m about to clear things up!

Watch this space!!!